Print Page

Join Us on Facebook!  Join us on LinkedIn!  Subscribe to our RSS Feeds!
News & Press: School News

Bronx Science Wins Team Excellence Award at the National Debate TOC

Tuesday, April 30, 2013   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Ben Austin
Share |
Bronx Science won the William Woods Tate, Jr. Team Excellence Award this weekend at the National High School Tournament of Champions (TOC), the most elite championship of high school debating. This prestigious award is presented to the school with the best overall performance at the TOC.

The National Forensic League has ranked Bronx Science as the top team in the United States throughout the current season and several times in previous seasons, but the team last won an individual TOC title in 1988, when Jonathan Koppell '88 and Peter Colavito '88 shared the Lincoln-Douglas Debate championship.

2013 marks Bronx Science's first TOC title since that achievement, and it is the first time the school has won the overall school championship.

This year, Bronx Science qualified a record twenty-one students to the TOC and was the only school represented in all six events: Congressional Debate, Extemporaneous Speaking, Lincoln-Douglas Debate, Original Oratory, Policy Debate, and Public Forum Debate.

Qualifying across events and having a large delegation, however, did not make winning the Tate Cup a foregone conclusion. Last year, Bronx Science was the only school qualified across all debate events, yet did not place in the overall school rankings at the TOC. This year, the third place school had three entries.

It was our team's collective performance over the long weekend of this year's TOC that clinched the school championship for Bronx Science. Mr. Jon Cruz, director of the program, accepted the award on behalf of the team.

In addition to winning the overall championship, Bronx Science debaters captured a number of individual awards.

Xavier Amarille '13 and Daniel Messner '13 reached the elite eight in Public Forum Debate. Abla Belhachmi '13 and Anastasia Kazteridis '13 reached the sweet sixteen in Policy Debate. David Millstein '14 was a semifinalist in Congressional Debate. Jeremy Andreades '13,Adam Freilich '13, and Morry Kolman '14 won individual speaker awards, as did Abla, Anastasia, and Daniel.

Julian Adler '13, Towsif Ahasan '13, Julia Bittencourt '15, Miranda Ditmore '15, Adam Hamilton '14, Alon Handler '14, Ajay Mayar '14, Brian Melniker '14, Zeke Rosenberg '13, Joe Salmaggi '14, Shai Szulanski '13, Joyce Tang '13, and Sam Turer '14 also qualified to compete at this most elite of national championships.

Become a member of the Alumni Association, and join a thriving community of passionate, energetic alumni.  Members receive the alumni newsletter, event discounts, and more!

Every year thousands of Science alumni get together and celebrate friendships and good memories.  Your friends and classmates can't wait to see you -- don't miss your upcoming reunion!

Bronx Science needs your support!  From laboratory equipment to new classrooms, find out how you can help current students and contribute to the continued success of your alma mater.